Get to Know: Stephanie

Published June 1, 2017 by in Teachers Tip, Wishful Thinking GTKW_Steph

Share with:

FacebookTwitterPinterest


We hope you’re enjoying getting to know A Wish Come True!

This week we’d like to introduce you to Stephanie; she’s a ‘Wish’-lifer who started work here during college (over 10 years ago). Now she’s a mother of two whose daughter now attends the same dance school she once did!

Learn more about her below!


What’s you job title? Describe what you do.

I’m a Senior Patternmaker. I develop first patterns from a designer’s sketch, but also a large part of my job is checking every pattern for errors and getting it ready to be put into production. I handle all of our preproduction size sets which involve cutting each style in a variety of sizes across the board to make sure every aspect of the design works on all sizes and is proportional. I also have the opportunity to design costumes.

 

 

What’s the most fun part of your job/day?

I love seeing and handling all the new fabrics and trims that come across my desk. I enjoy the problem solving aspect of tackling a new pattern.

 

 

Tell us a fun or funny memory from working at ‘Wish’.

I have so many… I love the way we celebrate birthdays. My coworkers are always so thoughtful and they always come up with a special treat, a great card and over the top way of surprising the Birthday Girl or Guy when it’s time to sing and celebrate.

 

 

Did you dance as a kid? Do you still dance?

I was a student for about 4 years before my interests shifted and I became involved with other things. I dance around the kitchen with my 3 year old daughter, does that count? She’s in her first year of ballet so this year was the first time I got to be on the other side of things as a “dance mom”.

 

 

Where and for what did you go to school for?

I went to Drexel University in Philadelphia and I have a BS in Fashion Design.

 

 

Did you have a different job before ‘Wish’?

Just the kinds of jobs you have as high school/college kid – retail, camp counselor, food service, etc. When I was 20 years old I started working at ‘Wish’ as a Co-Op. When that ended I stayed on as a part time employee fitting in a few hours a week between classes until I was hired full time when I graduated in 2006.

 

 

What did you want to be when you grew up?

A veterinarian… I love animals. But I also loved art and the act of creating. Right before my high school graduation I had a last minute change of heart and switched colleges and majors. And I’ve never looked back!

 

 

What are a few of your favorite things?

My two kids! I love seeing the world through their eyes; it makes even the simplest things amazing. Also high on the list: Starbucks Iced Coffee, hanging out at the beach, crafting and DIY house projects, and trying new restaurants.

 

 

What’s your spirit animal?

Currently, a kangaroo. I feel like I’m always carrying one of my kids.

 

 

Who are your favorite artists?

Art – Monet

Music – Jack Johnson & Gaslight Anthem

Fashion – Betsey Johnson


Want to learn more about ‘Wish”? Stay tuned for more employee interviews!

Leave a Reply


Your email address will not be published.